Month: April 2008

  • Juno the Capital of Alaska?

    No, but I do know one more terrible awful no-good very bad script.

    OK, guys, you all got me good. This has been the biggest practical joke pulled on me in my life, everyone getting me to sit down and watch Juno. I’m reminded of the time my family received a juicer for Christmas and one evening in February we decided to try it out. It made great apple juice and orange juice. We decided to try the veggies, starting with carrots. My brother thought the carrot juice looked absolutely disgusting. I drank a small glass and told him it was great. He didn’t believe me, so I drank another. That got him to taste it and discover that it was, as he suspected, downright nasty. It was absolutely worth it.

    So, ha ha everyone. You got me to watch Juno. And not just a small taste of it; I made it a full 14 and a half minutes into the movie. I have to hand it to you; you had everyone in on this thing: my friends (even the ones with reasonably well-developed taste in movies), my bosses, the Academy–hell, even David Denby professed to like it.

    Like I said, a hearty “good job” is in order for all of you. Karin, you can return that DVD you pretended you were adding to your collection; Oscar committee, you can redact the nominations; Cheryl and Tom, you can make a bona fide recommendation to me; David Denby, you can write your real review (I now know that when you wrote that the movie had “not a single false note,” you meant the exact opposite).

    My review? It would be very short. “As a movie, Juno is a clusterfuck.”

  • Lately I’ve been playing Fable for XBox a lot. It’s a fantasy game where you start out as an orphaned kid who gets trained at the Guild of Heroes. As you go through the game, your choices affect who you become. I’ve played through as a good wizard, an evil wizard, a good warrior, and now an evil warrior.

    Motivated by the guilt caused by endless hours on my butt playing that game, I have also done one or two enriching and productive things. Last Friday Chelle scored us free tickets to the Lancaster Symphony concert. At work I’m delving into knowledge management in a serious way, alongside my typical duties. I also went to the grocery store last night, and I’ve been keeping the budget. Now that taxes and a stupid medical bill are out of the way, it feels like we’re gaining forward momentum toward our next goal of eliminating our debt. I thought I wouldn’t feel less stressed until we were actually out from under the weight of our debt, but I’ve found that simply sticking to a budget and having a plan have drastically reduced the money-related stress for me.

    Amanda has been under the weather the past couple days. Aside from that, it’s been really great to see her unleashing her serious artistic talent again, this time through painting. Guinea pigs, mostly.

    I am taking a stab at a bona fide cool-looking design for Frodo’s Notebook. The functionality is 85% in place, but the look and feel, and usability, were not on the mark. I always feel like I look so stupid trying to tackle this Web stuff that I’m not good enough at.

    It’s sunny and around 70 degrees today. I am really enjoying my walks to and from work again, now that spring seems to be here. In a year the convention center across the way will be completed, and it will be a thrill to walk by there every day, especially when there are gobs of convention-goers toting freebies.

  • A model of prosperity for 21st Century America

    Lancaster is on NPR this morning, rocking it with its world-rocking central farmers market.

    And, Oprah is doing an hour-long cut-it-the-hell-out-you-dumb-assholes show on Lancaster County puppy mills this afternoon. This may be the first time ever that I have been even remotely grateful for Oprah’s existence on the planet.